In God we trust. All others must bring data.

he asked me to hire one.

the need for a statistician splurted out when one of the highest executive in marketing decided to leave the company. apparently, my boss think it was a cool idea to centralize the analysis, financial modeling, process reengineering in my section. so not only would my team be doing the corporate financial planning, the process restructuring, we would now be making more lives miserable with our analysis, reconstructed financial models, recommended operational processes.

ahhhh, what exactly is my job title?

i never worked with a statistician before; and i honestly think statistics is crap. and the fact that nobody else really know what statisticians do and how they do it, isn’t that frightening?

anyway, i have to draft a job description for the would-be new member of my team before i can start hiring him/her (better him than her; she could be quite an ample to handle. a female statistician? no thanks.) and because i actually need to at least understand what value a statistician can give to my team and the company as a whole, i turn to the world wide web for the wisdom.

i ended up on a joke page.

There are three kinds of lies: lies, damned lies, and statistics.

Statistically speaking, in China, even if you are a one in a million kind of guy, there are a thousand more just like you.

Statistics are like a bikini. What they reveal is suggestive, but what they conceal is vital.

more jokes here.

ahhh, a statistician on board my team would be helluva fun.

About this entry