margarette, get a hobby that doesn’t involve the net, your laptop, or your couch

while zsolt started his new year cleaning his room (i ended 2008 with cleaning mine), i started 2009 writing this blog.

saved from having a hang over makes it easy for me to sit down and think about my 2009 goals. some really call it resolutions, though i try to avoid that term as it has been worn out by too many people through the ages. and, the worse thing is that nobody seem to really get them done.

in an ideal, all-possible world, my goals (e.g. resolutions) would have been these:

1. start exercising
2. start eating healthy
3. go to work on time
4. find more friends.
5. try not to lose more acquaintances.
6. get a hobby that does not involve the internet, my laptop and my couch
7. stop the long distance relationship and settle with zsolt- wherever that may be
8. earn shitloads of money

they aren’t really that ambitious but then trying to stop smoking isn’t either and yet, most people fail miserably to keep up with that every year. to start exercising for me is tantamount to stop smoking for a chain smoker: it is just next to impossible. so, no, #1 isn’t a realistic goal.

start eating healthily. yeah, sure. if they put more reasonably-priced decent restaurants and burn down those fast food shops nearby my office.

go to work on time. yeah, right. my boss gave up on me on that one already. it is a lost cause. i just have to work smarter to compensate for my tardiness.

find more friends. i can count with my two set of hands the number of active friends i have at this moment. the truth is, for you to get into that group i call friends, you must either be insane to bear with me or you’ve been my friend before i became like this.

try not to lose more acquaintances. really, i don’t freaking care a rat’s ass if i lose all of them. you either can stand me or do not like me. if you decide that you belong to the latter group of people, it is probably best for both of us that i lose you anyway.

get a hobby that does not involve the internet, my laptop and my couch. good luck with that.

stop the long distance relationship and settle with zsolt- wherever that may be. oh, i don’t know… we both love the travels!

earn shitloads of money. the thing with this last piece of resolution is that it is very vague. earn shitloads of money? how? legally? this is one classic example of why resolutions do not work for people who make ’em. they are identified because they sound nice- but they aren’t really giving the doer anything to start off with.

really, i only have one new year’s resolution ( i should really just call it that now). and that is to exceed my accomplishments in 2008 and have more fun doing it.

i couldn’t get more specific nor realistic than that. 🙂

About this entry